Texas Crime Prevention Association

  • Home
  • National Night Out

National Night Out is an annual community-building campaign that promotes police-community partnerships and neighborhood camaraderie to make our neighborhoods safer, more caring places to live. National Night Out enhances the relationship between neighbors and law enforcement while bringing back a true sense of community. Furthermore, it provides a great opportunity to bring police and neighbors together under positive circumstances.

Millions of neighbors take part in National Night Out across thousands of communities from all fifty states, U.S. territories and military bases worldwide on the first Tuesday in August (Texas and select areas celebrate on the first Tuesday in October). Neighborhoods host block parties, festivals, parades, cookouts and various other community events with safety demonstrations, seminars, youth events, visits from emergency personnel, exhibits and much, much more.

Are you participating in National Night Out?  

It's Free. Register here. 

Are you competing for an award? 

The awards program recognizes registered communities for participation in National Night Out. Your community is encouraged to submit a post-project report and compete with communities of like size across the nation. In order to be competitive, communities must submit all documents pertaining to the National Night Out campaign while effectively communicating its success and efforts put forth by your community. 

Register here.  It's only $35 and you receive $25 off your first NNO supply order and 5% off your orders. 

Mark Your Calendar:

Jun 1 Deadline Become a Member

National Association of Town Watch (NATW) membership is required to take part in the awards program. Become a member or renew your membership before the entry deadline.

Jun 10 Deadline Awards Program

Use the form on NATW website to make entry into the awards program. Your NATW membership number is required and can be found on all membership invoices and receipts.

Jul 10 Deadline Agenda and Project 365

Email NATW with a general overview and outline of your plans for National Night Out this year. This information can be drafted in the body of your email, no attachment required.

Sep 26 Deadline (August NNO)

Oct 29 Deadline  (October NNO)

Send your Report

Document your National Night Out campaign in a comprehensive post-project report. NATW will review and evaluate all eligible submissions. Submissions must be mailed to:


PO Box 303

Wynnewood, PA 19096

Even if you are not competing for an award, still turn in the Yellow Post Project Report Form

2023 National Night Out Texas Proclamation

Texas was awarded the 2023 State Champion

The following Texas communities were awarded by the National Town Watch Association for their outstanding efforts:

For areas with 300,000+ population.

  • Arlington, TX
  • Dallas, TX
  • Collin County, TX

For areas with less than 5,000 population.

  • Bullard, TX

    For areas with 100,000-300,000 population.

    • The Woodlands Township, TX
    • Richardson, TX
    • Grand Prairie, TX
    • McKinney, TX
    • Waco, TX
    • Edinburg, TX
    • Travis Country, TX

    Open to military bases and communities.

    • Fort Cavazos, TX


      For areas with 50,000-100,000 population.

      • Cedar Park, TX
      • Pflugerville, TX
      • Victoria, TX
      • Mansfield, TX
      • Longview, TX

      For first year participating areas only.


        For areas with 15,000-50,000 population.

        • Coppell, TX
        • Midlothian, TX
        • Taylor, TX
        • Crowley, TX
        • White Settlement, TX
        • Denison, TX

        For smaller neighborhoods or communities.

        • Fort Cavazos, TX


          For areas with 5,000-15,000 population.

          • Jacksonville, TX
          • Kennedale, TX
          • Sunnyvale, TX
          • Van Alstyne, TX
          • Decatur, TX
          • Bonham, TX

          For colleges and universities.

          • Southern Methodist University
          • University of Texas at Dallas
          • University of Texas at Arlington
          • University of Texas at San Antonio
          • University of Texas Medical Branch (Galveston)
          • University of the Incarnate Word (San Antonio)

            © 2022 Texas Crime Prevention Association All Rights Reserved.
            Texas Crime Prevention Association is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. 
            Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software